Mitigation bank operator

South Carolina Department of Transportation Mitigation Banks

South Carolina Department of Transportation is a mitigation and conservation bank operator with a portfolio of 6 banks across 1 state (South Carolina). They break down as 4 approved, 2 sold-out. 3 banks currently list available credits. Its banks are regulated by the USACE Charleston district. They sit in 5 counties, among them Beaufort, Clarendon and Georgetown. The portfolio includes SCDOT Big Pine Tree Creek, SCDOT Black River and SCDOT Hunting Creek.

Figures mirrored from USACE RIBITS · synced

banks
6
states
1
banks with credits
3
RIBITS 2026-09-11

Credits available across the portfolio

Wetland
604.652credits
Stream
8,277.55credits

Portfolio locations

Banks operated by South Carolina Department of Transportation

portfolio

6 banks

6 banks, 6 rows
Mitigation bankClassificationAvailableUnit5 yr. sales
SCDOT Big Pine Tree CreekApprovedStreamWetlandStream · Stream PreservationWetland · Freshwater PreservationWetland · Buffer Enhancement8,277.55 — Stream · Stream Preservation85.60 — Wetland · Freshwater Preservation82.70 — Wetland · Buffer EnhancementCharleston Method — Stream · Stream PreservationCharleston Method — Wetland · Freshwater PreservationCharleston Method — Wetland · Buffer Enhancementsales by year — 2021: 0, 2022: 0, 2023: 0, 2024: 0, 2025: 0, 2026 (partial year, through 2026-09-10): 0no sales in window
SCDOT Black RiverApprovedWetlandWetland · Freshwater Wetlands219.837 — Wetland · Freshwater WetlandsRatio — Wetland · Freshwater Wetlandssales by year — 2021: 0, 2022: 0, 2023: 0, 2024: 0, 2025: 0, 2026 (partial year, through 2026-09-10): 0no sales in window
SCDOT Hunting CreekApprovedNo credit rows in the registrynot reportedno unit recordedno sales
SCDOT Huspa Creek - East Marsh SiteApprovedWetlandWetland · Salt Marsh Enhancement/Restoration216.515 — Wetland · Salt Marsh Enhancement/RestorationCharleston Method — Wetland · Salt Marsh Enhancement/Restorationsales by year — 2021: 3, 2022: 0, 2023: 0, 2024: 0, 2025: 0, 2026 (partial year, through 2026-09-10): 03 sales
SCDOT Huspa Creek - West Marsh SiteSold-OutNo credit rows in the registrynot reportedno unit recordedsales by year — 2021: 0, 2022: 0, 2023: 0, 2024: 0, 2025: 0, 2026 (partial year, through 2026-09-10): 0no sales in window
SCDOT Sandy IslandSold-OutNo credit rows in the registrynot reportedno unit recordedsales by year — 2021: 0, 2022: 0, 2023: 0, 2024: 0, 2025: 0, 2026 (partial year, through 2026-09-10): 0no sales in window

Captive (single-client) banks in this portfolio: SCDOT Big Pine Tree Creek, SCDOT Black River, SCDOT Hunting Creek, SCDOT Huspa Creek - East Marsh Site, SCDOT Huspa Creek - West Marsh Site, SCDOT Sandy Island.

About the data on this page

Bank details, status and credit balances are mirrored from the USACE RIBITS registry, the federal public record for mitigation banks. Credit classes offset different resources and are never added together. Totals across many banks are rounded to whole credits — a single bank’s own balance never is. What we call a “credit sale” is a credit withdrawal — the entry written in the federal credit ledger when credits are committed to a permit. At commercial banks a withdrawal generally represents a sale; at a single-client bank it offsets the sponsor’s own project. The figures count ledger transactions, not distinct purchases — one purchase may produce several withdrawals — and we count entries rather than credits moved, because credit classes are different units and cannot be added together. Each bar in a sales chart counts the credit sales recorded in that calendar year — withdrawals from the federal ledger, not quantities of credits. The final bar is the year in progress and is shown in a different color. No bars means no sales in those years.

The operator grouping is ours, not from RIBITS. The federal registry records a sponsor for each bank but lists no parent company. We identify operators by matching sponsor names and contact details across bank records, reviewed by hand. We only display operators with at least five banks.

“Recent sales” covers the last twelve months. A map of pins shows where banks and sites are, not where they can sell. Service areas are wider than the pin and are decided by the Corps — open a bank, or run a location search, to see the area it actually covers. The map on this page is drawn live from the EPA NEPAssist RIBITS MapServer when you load it.

How these figures are builtReport an issue