Mitigation bank operator

Pennsylvania Department of Transportation Mitigation Banks

Pennsylvania Department of Transportation is a mitigation and conservation bank operator with a portfolio of 13 banks across 1 state (Pennsylvania). They break down as 10 approved, 1 pending, 2 sold-out. 9 banks currently list available credits. Its banks are regulated by the USACE Baltimore, Philadelphia and Pittsburgh districts. They sit in 12 counties, among them Bedford, Blair and Cambria. The portfolio includes Louis Beach, PA DOT UMBI - Vargo Mitigation Site and PA DOT UMBI-Aughwick Creek Site.

Figures mirrored from USACE RIBITS · synced

banks
13
states
1
banks with credits
9
RIBITS 2026-09-11

Credits available across the portfolio

Wetland
48.292credits

Portfolio locations

Banks operated by Pennsylvania Department of Transportation

portfolio

13 banks

13 banks, 13 rows
Mitigation bankClassificationAvailableUnit5 yr. sales
Louis BeachApprovedWetlandWetland · PEM - Palustrine Emergent MarshWetland · POW - Palustrine Open Water3.088 — Wetland · PEM - Palustrine Emergent Marsh0.827 — Wetland · POW - Palustrine Open WaterRatio — Wetland · PEM - Palustrine Emergent MarshRatio — Wetland · POW - Palustrine Open Watersales by year — 2021: 0, 2022: 0, 2023: 0, 2024: 0, 2025: 0, 2026 (partial year, through 2026-09-10): 0no sales in window
PA DOT UMBI - Vargo Mitigation SiteApprovedWetlandWetland · POW - Palustrine Open WaterWetland · PSS - Palustrine Scrub ShrubWetland · PFO - Palustrine ForestedWetland · PEM - Palustrine Emergent Marsh1.947 — Wetland · POW - Palustrine Open Water0.727 — Wetland · PSS - Palustrine Scrub Shrub0.433 — Wetland · PFO - Palustrine Forested0.40 — Wetland · PEM - Palustrine Emergent MarshRatio — Wetland · POW - Palustrine Open WaterUSACE 1987 Wetland Delineation Manual — Wetland · PSS - Palustrine Scrub ShrubUSACE 1987 Wetland Delineation Manual — Wetland · PFO - Palustrine ForestedRatio — Wetland · PEM - Palustrine Emergent Marshsales by year — 2021: 0, 2022: 1, 2023: 0, 2024: 0, 2025: 0, 2026 (partial year, through 2026-09-10): 01 sale
PA DOT UMBI-Aughwick Creek SiteApprovedWetlandWetland · PEM - Palustrine Emergent MarshWetland · POW - Palustrine Open WaterWetland · PSS - Palustrine Scrub Shrub0.499 — Wetland · PEM - Palustrine Emergent Marsh0.28 — Wetland · POW - Palustrine Open Water0.053 — Wetland · PSS - Palustrine Scrub ShrubRatio — Wetland · PEM - Palustrine Emergent MarshRatio — Wetland · POW - Palustrine Open WaterUSACE 1987 Wetland Delineation Manual — Wetland · PSS - Palustrine Scrub Shrubsales by year — 2021: 0, 2022: 0, 2023: 0, 2024: 0, 2025: 0, 2026 (partial year, through 2026-09-10): 0no sales in window
PA DOT UMBI-Cambria SiteApprovedWetlandWetland · PEM - Palustrine Emergent MarshWetland · PSS - Palustrine Scrub ShrubWetland · PFO - Palustrine Forested2.826 — Wetland · PEM - Palustrine Emergent Marsh1.515 — Wetland · PSS - Palustrine Scrub Shrub0.48 — Wetland · PFO - Palustrine ForestedRatio — Wetland · PEM - Palustrine Emergent MarshUSACE 1987 Wetland Delineation Manual — Wetland · PSS - Palustrine Scrub ShrubUSACE 1987 Wetland Delineation Manual — Wetland · PFO - Palustrine Forestedsales by year — 2021: 1, 2022: 0, 2023: 0, 2024: 0, 2025: 0, 2026 (partial year, through 2026-09-10): 01 sale
PA DOT UMBI-FultonApprovedWetlandWetland · PEM - Palustrine Emergent MarshWetland · PSS - Palustrine Scrub ShrubWetland · PFO - Palustrine ForestedWetland · POW - Palustrine Open Water7.662 — Wetland · PEM - Palustrine Emergent Marsh3.39 — Wetland · PSS - Palustrine Scrub Shrub1.39 — Wetland · PFO - Palustrine Forested0.03 — Wetland · POW - Palustrine Open WaterRatio — Wetland · PEM - Palustrine Emergent MarshUSACE 1987 Wetland Delineation Manual — Wetland · PSS - Palustrine Scrub ShrubUSACE 1987 Wetland Delineation Manual — Wetland · PFO - Palustrine ForestedRatio — Wetland · POW - Palustrine Open Watersales by year — 2021: 0, 2022: 0, 2023: 0, 2024: 0, 2025: 0, 2026 (partial year, through 2026-09-10): 0no sales in window
PA DOT UMBI-HuntingdonApprovedWetlandWetland · PEM - Palustrine Emergent MarshWetland · PSS - Palustrine Scrub ShrubWetland · PFO - Palustrine ForestedWetland · POW - Palustrine Open Water2.185 — Wetland · PEM - Palustrine Emergent Marsh1.547 — Wetland · PSS - Palustrine Scrub Shrub1.359 — Wetland · PFO - Palustrine Forested0.48 — Wetland · POW - Palustrine Open WaterRatio — Wetland · PEM - Palustrine Emergent MarshUSACE 1987 Wetland Delineation Manual — Wetland · PSS - Palustrine Scrub ShrubUSACE 1987 Wetland Delineation Manual — Wetland · PFO - Palustrine ForestedRatio — Wetland · POW - Palustrine Open Watersales by year — 2021: 1, 2022: 0, 2023: 0, 2024: 0, 2025: 0, 2026 (partial year, through 2026-09-10): 01 sale
PA DOT UMBI-Mowry SiteApprovedWetlandWetland · PEM - Palustrine Emergent MarshWetland · PFO - Palustrine ForestedWetland · PSS - Palustrine Scrub ShrubWetland · POW - Palustrine Open Water5.19 — Wetland · PEM - Palustrine Emergent Marsh2.78 — Wetland · PFO - Palustrine Forested1.07 — Wetland · PSS - Palustrine Scrub Shrub0.13 — Wetland · POW - Palustrine Open WaterRatio — Wetland · PEM - Palustrine Emergent MarshUSACE 1987 Wetland Delineation Manual — Wetland · PFO - Palustrine ForestedUSACE 1987 Wetland Delineation Manual — Wetland · PSS - Palustrine Scrub ShrubRatio — Wetland · POW - Palustrine Open Watersales by year — 2021: 0, 2022: 0, 2023: 0, 2024: 0, 2025: 0, 2026 (partial year, through 2026-09-10): 0no sales in window
PA DOT-Claude Hoffman Advance Wetland Mitigation SiteApprovedWetlandWetland · PEM - Palustrine Emergent Marsh6.474 — Wetland · PEM - Palustrine Emergent MarshRatio — Wetland · PEM - Palustrine Emergent Marshsales by year — 2021: 0, 2022: 0, 2023: 0, 2024: 0, 2025: 0, 2026 (partial year, through 2026-09-10): 0no sales in window
PADOT Umbrella Mitigation Banking InstrumentApprovedNo credit rows in the registrynot reportedno unit recordedno sales
State Game Lands 297 (PennDOT AWC)ApprovedWetlandWetland · Scrub-ShrubWetland · WetlandsWetland · Forested1.06 — Wetland · Scrub-Shrub0.43 — Wetland · Wetlands0.04 — Wetland · ForestedRatio — Wetland · Scrub-ShrubRatio — Wetland · WetlandsRatio — Wetland · Forestedsales by year — 2021: 0, 2022: 0, 2023: 0, 2024: 6, 2025: 0, 2026 (partial year, through 2026-09-10): 06 sales
PA DOT UMBI-FetterPendingNo credit rows in the registrynot reportedno unit recordedno sales
PA DOT UMBI-Kettle CreekSold-OutNo credit rows in the registrynot reportedno unit recordedsales by year — 2021: 2, 2022: 0, 2023: 0, 2024: 0, 2025: 0, 2026 (partial year, through 2026-09-10): 02 sales
PA DOT-McPherron Advanced Wetland Mitigation SiteSold-OutNo credit rows in the registrynot reportedno unit recordedsales by year — 2021: 2, 2022: 0, 2023: 0, 2024: 0, 2025: 0, 2026 (partial year, through 2026-09-10): 02 sales

Captive (single-client) banks in this portfolio: Louis Beach, PA DOT UMBI - Vargo Mitigation Site, PA DOT UMBI-Aughwick Creek Site, PA DOT UMBI-Cambria Site, PA DOT UMBI-Fulton, PA DOT UMBI-Huntingdon, PA DOT UMBI-Mowry Site, PA DOT-Claude Hoffman Advance Wetland Mitigation Site, PADOT Umbrella Mitigation Banking Instrument, State Game Lands 297 (PennDOT AWC), PA DOT UMBI-Fetter, PA DOT UMBI-Kettle Creek, PA DOT-McPherron Advanced Wetland Mitigation Site.

About the data on this page

Bank details, status and credit balances are mirrored from the USACE RIBITS registry, the federal public record for mitigation banks. Credit classes offset different resources and are never added together. Totals across many banks are rounded to whole credits — a single bank’s own balance never is. What we call a “credit sale” is a credit withdrawal — the entry written in the federal credit ledger when credits are committed to a permit. At commercial banks a withdrawal generally represents a sale; at a single-client bank it offsets the sponsor’s own project. The figures count ledger transactions, not distinct purchases — one purchase may produce several withdrawals — and we count entries rather than credits moved, because credit classes are different units and cannot be added together. Each bar in a sales chart counts the credit sales recorded in that calendar year — withdrawals from the federal ledger, not quantities of credits. The final bar is the year in progress and is shown in a different color. No bars means no sales in those years.

The operator grouping is ours, not from RIBITS. The federal registry records a sponsor for each bank but lists no parent company. We identify operators by matching sponsor names and contact details across bank records, reviewed by hand. We only display operators with at least five banks.

“Recent sales” covers the last twelve months. A map of pins shows where banks and sites are, not where they can sell. Service areas are wider than the pin and are decided by the Corps — open a bank, or run a location search, to see the area it actually covers. The map on this page is drawn live from the EPA NEPAssist RIBITS MapServer when you load it.

How these figures are builtReport an issue