Mitigation bank operator

Minnesota Department of Transportation Mitigation Banks

Minnesota Department of Transportation is a mitigation and conservation bank operator with a portfolio of 7 banks across 1 state (Minnesota). They break down as 1 approved, 4 sold-out, 2 terminated. 2 banks currently list available credits. Its banks are regulated by the USACE St. Paul district. They sit in 7 counties, among them Hubbard, Martin and Scott. The portfolio includes MN - Scott - S9837-1781 - MnDOT Kes-Wes Bank, MN - Hubbard - Lake George Borrow Ponds - MnDOT and MN - St. Louis - Buhl Impoundment - MnDOT. 1 sale is recorded across these banks since September 2025.

Figures mirrored from USACE RIBITS · synced

banks
7
states
1
banks with credits
2
RIBITS 2026-09-11

Credits available across the portfolio

Wetland
8.009credits

Portfolio locations

Banks operated by Minnesota Department of Transportation

portfolio

7 banks

7 banks, 7 rows
Mitigation bankClassificationAvailableUnit5 yr. sales
MN - Scott - S9837-1781 - MnDOT Kes-Wes BankApprovedWetlandWetland · Upland BufferWetland · Deep MarshWetland · Fresh (Wet) Meadow5.858 — Wetland · Upland Buffer1.26 — Wetland · Deep Marsh0.081 — Wetland · Fresh (Wet) MeadowRatio — Wetland · Upland BufferRatio — Wetland · Deep MarshRatio — Wetland · Fresh (Wet) Meadowsales by year — 2021: 0, 2022: 0, 2023: 0, 2024: 4, 2025: 0, 2026 (partial year, through 2026-09-10): 15 sales
MN - Hubbard - Lake George Borrow Ponds - MnDOTSold-OutNo credit rows in the registrynot reportedno unit recordedno sales
MN - St. Louis - Buhl Impoundment - MnDOTSold-OutNo credit rows in the registrynot reportedno unit recordedno sales
MN - Todd - S101-1282 BWSR Staples Rice Lake, MnDOT 'Jumpstart'Sold-OutNo credit rows in the registrynot reportedno unit recordedno sales
MN - Waseca - S1962-1081 MariskaSold-OutNo credit rows in the registrynot reportedno unit recordedsales by year — 2021: 0, 2022: 0, 2023: 0, 2024: 0, 2025: 0, 2026 (partial year, through 2026-09-10): 0no sales in window
MN - Martin - MnDOT/Holmes Lakebed NIBTerminatedNo credit rows in the registrynot reportedno unit recordedno sales
MN - Steele - S2625-1151 MnDOT/Big DogTerminatedWetlandWetland · Fresh (Wet) Meadow0.81 — Wetland · Fresh (Wet) MeadowRatio — Wetland · Fresh (Wet) Meadowsales by year — 2021: 0, 2022: 0, 2023: 0, 2024: 0, 2025: 0, 2026 (partial year, through 2026-09-10): 0no sales in window

Captive (single-client) banks in this portfolio: MN - Scott - S9837-1781 - MnDOT Kes-Wes Bank, MN - Hubbard - Lake George Borrow Ponds - MnDOT, MN - St. Louis - Buhl Impoundment - MnDOT, MN - Todd - S101-1282 BWSR Staples Rice Lake, MnDOT 'Jumpstart', MN - Martin - MnDOT/Holmes Lakebed NIB, MN - Steele - S2625-1151 MnDOT/Big Dog.

Recent credit sales at these banks

Withdrawals recorded in the RIBITS ledger — the credits these banks sold to offset permitted impacts. The buyer is not shown: ledger use here is deliberately restricted to the existence, quantity and date of a transaction.

ledger · withdrawals

1 sale

1 sale, 1 row
DateMitigation bankClassificationCredits
Date2026-03-02MN - Scott - S9837-1781 - MnDOT Kes-Wes BankClassificationFresh (Wet) MeadowCredits0.50

About the data on this page

Bank details, status and credit balances are mirrored from the USACE RIBITS registry, the federal public record for mitigation banks. Credit classes offset different resources and are never added together. Totals across many banks are rounded to whole credits — a single bank’s own balance never is. What we call a “credit sale” is a credit withdrawal — the entry written in the federal credit ledger when credits are committed to a permit. At commercial banks a withdrawal generally represents a sale; at a single-client bank it offsets the sponsor’s own project. The figures count ledger transactions, not distinct purchases — one purchase may produce several withdrawals — and we count entries rather than credits moved, because credit classes are different units and cannot be added together. Each bar in a sales chart counts the credit sales recorded in that calendar year — withdrawals from the federal ledger, not quantities of credits. The final bar is the year in progress and is shown in a different color. No bars means no sales in those years.

The operator grouping is ours, not from RIBITS. The federal registry records a sponsor for each bank but lists no parent company. We identify operators by matching sponsor names and contact details across bank records, reviewed by hand. We only display operators with at least five banks.

“Recent sales” covers the last twelve months. A map of pins shows where banks and sites are, not where they can sell. Service areas are wider than the pin and are decided by the Corps — open a bank, or run a location search, to see the area it actually covers. The map on this page is drawn live from the EPA NEPAssist RIBITS MapServer when you load it.

How these figures are builtReport an issue