Mitigation bank operator

Minnesota Board of Water and Soil Resources Mitigation Banks

Minnesota Board of Water and Soil Resources is a mitigation and conservation bank operator with a portfolio of 21 banks across 1 state (Minnesota). They break down as 13 approved, 1 pending, 4 sold-out, 1 terminated, 2 withdrawn. 9 banks currently list available credits. Its banks are regulated by the USACE St. Paul district. They sit in 14 counties, among them Aitkin, Anoka and Becker. The portfolio includes MN - Aitkin - S2927-1315 BWSR/French Lake (blended, also contains MnDOT credits in state accounts 1615, 1548), MN - Becker - S8904-1718 - Ogema Wetland Bank and MN - Becker - S8904-T1759 - Ogema Wetland Bank (MnDOT transfer from 1718). 12 sales are recorded across these banks since September 2025.

Figures mirrored from USACE RIBITS · synced

banks
21
states
1
banks with credits
9
RIBITS 2026-09-11

Credits available across the portfolio

Wetland
69.029credits

Portfolio locations

Banks operated by Minnesota Board of Water and Soil Resources

portfolio

21 banks

21 banks, 21 rows
Mitigation bankClassificationAvailableUnit5 yr. sales
MN - Aitkin - S2927-1315 BWSR/French Lake (blended, also contains MnDOT credits in state accounts 1615, 1548)ApprovedWetlandWetland · Shrub Swamp (Shrub-Carr or Alder Thicket)5.767 — Wetland · Shrub Swamp (Shrub-Carr or Alder Thicket)Ratio — Wetland · Shrub Swamp (Shrub-Carr or Alder Thicket)sales by year — 2021: 12, 2022: 0, 2023: 0, 2024: 0, 2025: 0, 2026 (partial year, through 2026-09-10): 012 sales
MN - Becker - S8904-1718 - Ogema Wetland BankApprovedWetlandWetland · Fresh (Wet) MeadowWetland · Shallow MarshWetland · Deep Marsh10.932 — Wetland · Fresh (Wet) Meadow1.101 — Wetland · Shallow Marsh0.025 — Wetland · Deep MarshRatio — Wetland · Fresh (Wet) MeadowRatio — Wetland · Shallow MarshRatio — Wetland · Deep Marshsales by year — 2021: 2, 2022: 6, 2023: 7, 2024: 5, 2025: 1, 2026 (partial year, through 2026-09-10): 425 sales
MN - Becker - S8904-T1759 - Ogema Wetland Bank (MnDOT transfer from 1718)ApprovedWetlandWetland · Shallow MarshWetland · Fresh (Wet) Meadow2.238 — Wetland · Shallow Marsh1.484 — Wetland · Fresh (Wet) MeadowRatio — Wetland · Shallow MarshRatio — Wetland · Fresh (Wet) Meadowsales by year — 2021: 0, 2022: 1, 2023: 0, 2024: 0, 2025: 0, 2026 (partial year, through 2026-09-10): 01 sale
MN - Dakota - S9415-1685 - Jordan/BWSR [NIB]ApprovedWetlandWetland · Shallow MarshWetland · Wet to Wet-Mesic PrairieWetland · Shallow Marsh4.199 — Wetland · Shallow Marsh2.947 — Wetland · Wet to Wet-Mesic Prairie0.034 — Wetland · Shallow MarshRatio — Wetland · Shallow MarshRatio — Wetland · Wet to Wet-Mesic PrairieRatio — Wetland · Shallow Marshsales by year — 2021: 3, 2022: 2, 2023: 2, 2024: 2, 2025: 8, 2026 (partial year, through 2026-09-10): 320 sales
MN - Dakota - S9415-T1686 - Jordan/BWSR (Dakota County credit purchase for own use)ApprovedWetlandWetland · Shallow MarshWetland · Wet to Wet-Mesic Prairie5.976 — Wetland · Shallow Marsh0.446 — Wetland · Wet to Wet-Mesic PrairieRatio — Wetland · Shallow MarshRatio — Wetland · Wet to Wet-Mesic Prairiesales by year — 2021: 2, 2022: 0, 2023: 1, 2024: 0, 2025: 0, 2026 (partial year, through 2026-09-10): 03 sales
MN - Grant - Stony Brook LGRWRP BankApprovedNo credit rows in the registrynot reportedno unit recordedno sales
MN - Lincoln - S8907-1711 - Curt Madsen Wetland Bank/BWSRApprovedWetlandWetland · Deep MarshWetland · Fresh (Wet) MeadowWetland · Shallow Marsh9.561 — Wetland · Deep Marsh6.79 — Wetland · Fresh (Wet) Meadow2.488 — Wetland · Shallow MarshRatio — Wetland · Deep MarshRatio — Wetland · Fresh (Wet) MeadowRatio — Wetland · Shallow Marshsales by year — 2021: 2, 2022: 3, 2023: 1, 2024: 10, 2025: 5, 2026 (partial year, through 2026-09-10): 021 sales
MN - Meeker - S9139-T1790 Swenson Bank (BWSR transfer to MnDOT from 1789)ApprovedWetlandWetland · Fresh (Wet) MeadowWetland · Shallow MarshWetland · Deep Marsh2.076 — Wetland · Fresh (Wet) Meadow0.779 — Wetland · Shallow Marsh0.537 — Wetland · Deep MarshRatio — Wetland · Fresh (Wet) MeadowRatio — Wetland · Shallow MarshRatio — Wetland · Deep Marshsales by year — 2021: 0, 2022: 0, 2023: 0, 2024: 5, 2025: 4, 2026 (partial year, through 2026-09-10): 211 sales
MN - Redwood - Morgan BWSR Road BankApprovedNo credit rows in the registrynot reportedno unit recordedno sales
MN - Renville - DCA Farms Bank LGRWRPApprovedNo credit rows in the registrynot reportedno unit recordedno sales
MN - Renville - Groveland Farms Wetland BankApprovedWetlandWetland · Fresh (Wet) MeadowWetland · Shallow MarshWetland · Deep Marsh5.367 — Wetland · Fresh (Wet) Meadow4.607 — Wetland · Shallow Marsh1.198 — Wetland · Deep MarshRatio — Wetland · Fresh (Wet) MeadowRatio — Wetland · Shallow MarshRatio — Wetland · Deep Marshno sales
MN - Wright - S9590-1795 - BWSR Stockholm Wetland BankApprovedNo credit rows in the registrynot reportedno unit recordedsales by year — 2021: 0, 2022: 0, 2023: 0, 2024: 6, 2025: 6, 2026 (partial year, through 2026-09-10): 012 sales
MN - Wright - S9798-1820 - BWSR Corinna BankApprovedNo credit rows in the registrynot reportedno unit recordedsales by year — 2021: 0, 2022: 0, 2023: 0, 2024: 0, 2025: 12, 2026 (partial year, through 2026-09-10): 012 sales
MN - Chippewa - Highway 23 BankPendingNo credit rows in the registrynot reportedno unit recordedno sales
MN - Dakota - S1974-T1077 BWSR/FredericksonSold-OutNo credit rows in the registrynot reportedno unit recordedsales by year — 2021: 0, 2022: 0, 2023: 0, 2024: 0, 2025: 0, 2026 (partial year, through 2026-09-10): 0no sales in window
MN - Kanabec - S2723-T1174 BWSR/NelsonSold-OutNo credit rows in the registrynot reportedno unit recordedsales by year — 2021: 0, 2022: 0, 2023: 0, 2024: 0, 2025: 0, 2026 (partial year, through 2026-09-10): 0no sales in window
MN - Renville - S3602-1312 BWSR/DeinkenSold-OutNo credit rows in the registrynot reportedno unit recordedsales by year — 2021: 0, 2022: 0, 2023: 0, 2024: 0, 2025: 0, 2026 (partial year, through 2026-09-10): 0no sales in window
MN - Renville - S999-T1455 BWSR/Neubauer Mixed MnDOT holdSold-OutNo credit rows in the registrynot reportedno unit recordedno sales
MN - Roseau - S4284-1460 ^ BWSR/LindahlTerminatedNo credit rows in the registrynot reportedno unit recordedsales by year — 2021: 0, 2022: 0, 2023: 0, 2024: 0, 2025: 0, 2026 (partial year, through 2026-09-10): 0no sales in window
MN - Kandiyohi - Helgeson BankWithdrawnNo credit rows in the registrynot reportedno unit recordedno sales
MN - Lake of the Woods - S3644-1391 ^ BWSR/PieperWithdrawnWetlandWetland · Wooded Swamp (Hardwood Swamp or Coniferous Swamp)0.477 — Wetland · Wooded Swamp (Hardwood Swamp or Coniferous Swamp)Ratio — Wetland · Wooded Swamp (Hardwood Swamp or Coniferous Swamp)sales by year — 2021: 0, 2022: 0, 2023: 0, 2024: 0, 2025: 0, 2026 (partial year, through 2026-09-10): 0no sales in window

Captive (single-client) banks in this portfolio: MN - Aitkin - S2927-1315 BWSR/French Lake (blended, also contains MnDOT credits in state accounts 1615, 1548), MN - Becker - S8904-1718 - Ogema Wetland Bank, MN - Becker - S8904-T1759 - Ogema Wetland Bank (MnDOT transfer from 1718), MN - Dakota - S9415-1685 - Jordan/BWSR [NIB], MN - Grant - Stony Brook LGRWRP Bank, MN - Lincoln - S8907-1711 - Curt Madsen Wetland Bank/BWSR, MN - Meeker - S9139-T1790 Swenson Bank (BWSR transfer to MnDOT from 1789), MN - Redwood - Morgan BWSR Road Bank, MN - Renville - Groveland Farms Wetland Bank, MN - Wright - S9590-1795 - BWSR Stockholm Wetland Bank, MN - Wright - S9798-1820 - BWSR Corinna Bank, MN - Chippewa - Highway 23 Bank, MN - Kanabec - S2723-T1174 BWSR/Nelson, MN - Renville - S3602-1312 BWSR/Deinken, MN - Renville - S999-T1455 BWSR/Neubauer Mixed MnDOT hold, MN - Roseau - S4284-1460 ^ BWSR/Lindahl, MN - Kandiyohi - Helgeson Bank, MN - Lake of the Woods - S3644-1391 ^ BWSR/Pieper.

Recent credit sales at these banks

Withdrawals recorded in the RIBITS ledger — the credits these banks sold to offset permitted impacts. The buyer is not shown: ledger use here is deliberately restricted to the existence, quantity and date of a transaction.

ledger · withdrawals

12 sales

12 sales, 12 rows
DateMitigation bankClassificationCredits
Date2026-05-15MN - Meeker - S9139-T1790 Swenson Bank (BWSR transfer to MnDOT from 1789)ClassificationDeep MarshCredits0.10
Date2026-05-15MN - Meeker - S9139-T1790 Swenson Bank (BWSR transfer to MnDOT from 1789)ClassificationDeep MarshCredits0.08
Date2026-04-10MN - Becker - S8904-1718 - Ogema Wetland BankClassificationFresh (Wet) MeadowCredits0.6626
Date2026-04-10MN - Becker - S8904-1718 - Ogema Wetland BankClassificationShallow MarshCredits0.0374
Date2026-04-09MN - Becker - S8904-1718 - Ogema Wetland BankClassificationFresh (Wet) MeadowCredits0.692
Date2026-03-02MN - Dakota - S9415-1685 - Jordan/BWSR [NIB]ClassificationWet to Wet-Mesic PrairieCredits3.1586
Date2026-03-02MN - Dakota - S9415-1685 - Jordan/BWSR [NIB]ClassificationShallow MarshCredits1.0814
Date2026-01-28MN - Becker - S8904-1718 - Ogema Wetland BankClassificationDeep MarshCredits0.38
Date2026-01-04MN - Dakota - S9415-1685 - Jordan/BWSR [NIB]ClassificationShallow MarshCredits4.68
Date2025-12-23MN - Meeker - S9139-T1790 Swenson Bank (BWSR transfer to MnDOT from 1789)ClassificationShallow MarshCredits0.40
Date2025-10-07MN - Dakota - S9415-1685 - Jordan/BWSR [NIB]ClassificationShallow MarshCredits0.9244
Date2025-09-17MN - Meeker - S9139-T1790 Swenson Bank (BWSR transfer to MnDOT from 1789)ClassificationFresh (Wet) MeadowCredits0.20

About the data on this page

Bank details, status and credit balances are mirrored from the USACE RIBITS registry, the federal public record for mitigation banks. Credit classes offset different resources and are never added together. Totals across many banks are rounded to whole credits — a single bank’s own balance never is. What we call a “credit sale” is a credit withdrawal — the entry written in the federal credit ledger when credits are committed to a permit. At commercial banks a withdrawal generally represents a sale; at a single-client bank it offsets the sponsor’s own project. The figures count ledger transactions, not distinct purchases — one purchase may produce several withdrawals — and we count entries rather than credits moved, because credit classes are different units and cannot be added together. Each bar in a sales chart counts the credit sales recorded in that calendar year — withdrawals from the federal ledger, not quantities of credits. The final bar is the year in progress and is shown in a different color. No bars means no sales in those years.

The operator grouping is ours, not from RIBITS. The federal registry records a sponsor for each bank but lists no parent company. We identify operators by matching sponsor names and contact details across bank records, reviewed by hand. We only display operators with at least five banks.

“Recent sales” covers the last twelve months. A map of pins shows where banks and sites are, not where they can sell. Service areas are wider than the pin and are decided by the Corps — open a bank, or run a location search, to see the area it actually covers. The map on this page is drawn live from the EPA NEPAssist RIBITS MapServer when you load it.

How these figures are builtReport an issue