Mitigation bank operator

City of San Diego Mitigation Banks

City of San Diego is a mitigation and conservation bank operator with a portfolio of 5 banks across 1 state (California). They break down as 1 approved, 3 pending, 1 sold-out. 1 bank currently lists available credits. Its banks are regulated by the USACE Los Angeles district. They sit in 1 county: San Diego. The portfolio includes Cornerstones (Phase I) - Marron Valley, Cornerstones (Phase II) - Lake Hodges and Cornerstones (Phase III) - Otay Lakes.

Figures mirrored from USACE RIBITS · synced

banks
5
states
1
banks with credits
1
RIBITS 2026-09-11

Credits available across the portfolio

Species
900.795credits

Portfolio locations

Banks operated by City of San Diego

portfolio

5 banks

5 banks, 5 rows
Mitigation bankClassificationAvailableUnit5 yr. sales
Cornerstones (Phase I) - Marron ValleyApprovedSpeciesSpecies · Coastal Sage Scrub/Non-native Grassland900.795 — Species · Coastal Sage Scrub/Non-native Grasslandno unit recorded — Species · Coastal Sage Scrub/Non-native Grasslandsales by year — 2021: 0, 2022: 0, 2023: 0, 2024: 0, 2025: 0, 2026 (partial year, through 2026-09-10): 0no sales in window
Cornerstones (Phase II) - Lake HodgesPendingNo credit rows in the registrynot reportedno unit recordedno sales
Cornerstones (Phase III) - Otay LakesPendingNo credit rows in the registrynot reportedno unit recordedno sales
Cornerstones (Phase IV) - San Vicente ReservoirPendingNo credit rows in the registrynot reportedno unit recordedno sales
Deer CanyonSold-OutNo credit rows in the registrynot reportedno unit recordedsales by year — 2021: 0, 2022: 0, 2023: 0, 2024: 0, 2025: 0, 2026 (partial year, through 2026-09-10): 0no sales in window

Captive (single-client) banks in this portfolio: Cornerstones (Phase I) - Marron Valley, Cornerstones (Phase II) - Lake Hodges, Cornerstones (Phase III) - Otay Lakes, Cornerstones (Phase IV) - San Vicente Reservoir.

About the data on this page

Bank details, status and credit balances are mirrored from the USACE RIBITS registry, the federal public record for mitigation banks. Credit classes offset different resources and are never added together. Totals across many banks are rounded to whole credits — a single bank’s own balance never is. What we call a “credit sale” is a credit withdrawal — the entry written in the federal credit ledger when credits are committed to a permit. At commercial banks a withdrawal generally represents a sale; at a single-client bank it offsets the sponsor’s own project. The figures count ledger transactions, not distinct purchases — one purchase may produce several withdrawals — and we count entries rather than credits moved, because credit classes are different units and cannot be added together. Each bar in a sales chart counts the credit sales recorded in that calendar year — withdrawals from the federal ledger, not quantities of credits. The final bar is the year in progress and is shown in a different color. No bars means no sales in those years.

The operator grouping is ours, not from RIBITS. The federal registry records a sponsor for each bank but lists no parent company. We identify operators by matching sponsor names and contact details across bank records, reviewed by hand. We only display operators with at least five banks.

“Recent sales” covers the last twelve months. A map of pins shows where banks and sites are, not where they can sell. Service areas are wider than the pin and are decided by the Corps — open a bank, or run a location search, to see the area it actually covers. The map on this page is drawn live from the EPA NEPAssist RIBITS MapServer when you load it.

How these figures are builtReport an issue